Grant Eligibility Criteria

ECO4 Eligibility Criteria

Energy Company Obligation (ECO4) is a government energy-efficiency scheme in Great Britain, designed to tackle fuel poverty and help reduce carbon emissions. ECO is an obligation placed on energy companies to deliver energy efficiency measures to domestic premises.

ECO4 focusses on improving the least energy efficient homes and households in fuel poverty, as only properties in bands D-G can be treated. Furthermore, a minimum number of private tenure homes in energy efficiency rating band E, F and G must be upgraded throughout ECO4, ensuring the least efficient homes are treated.

The ECO4 scheme will run until 31 March 2026.

ECO4 Qualifying Benefits:

  • Income-based Jobseekers Allowance
  • Income-related Employment and Support Allowance (ESA)
  • Income Support (Is)
  • Pension Credit Guarantee Credit
  • Working Tax Credit (WTC)
  • Child Tax Credits (CTC)
  • Universal Credit (UC)
  • Housing Benefit (new eligible benefit for ECO4)
  • Pension Credit Savings Credit (new eligible benefit for EC04)
  • Child Benefit (subject to income caps and composition)

Social Housing properties with EPC ratings of E, F or G can qualify for ECO funding regardless of the resident’s benefits eligibility. The measures available however, are limited to insulation and first time central heating systems.

*Additional conditions are required to qualify for ECO grants. 

Additional Conditions for Child Benefit

To qualify for ECO grants using Child Benefit, your annual gross income from all sources before taxes must be below or equal to the following criteria:

Type of claimant Number of children or qualifying young persons
1 2 3 4 or more
Single claimant £19,900 £24,800 £29,600 £34,500
Member of a couple £27,500 £32,300 £37,200 £42,000

*The children must be under 16 years old and living in the property. The age requirement can be increased to below 21 years of age if they are in approved education or  training.

*Income is determined based on the preceding annual tax year which runs from the April to 5th April of the following year.

Scroll to Top